Elvis Presley was a hero to most…!

Louis Armstrong “Wonderful World”

Marvin Gaye “What´s Goin´On”

Bob Dylan “The Times Are-A-Changing”

John Lennon “Imagine”

Prince “Sign´O´The Times”

Curtis Mayfield “Hard Times”

…And this is just a few of many songs with a deeper meaning – something to tell the listener, having an agenda – a political message!

Today Elvis Presley would have been 78 years old. It´s 35 years since he passed away too soon back in 1977.

1039152858a1039748642b821589358l

When it comes to songs with a deeper meaning. Everyone knows his fantastic “In the Ghetto” but Elvis Presleys version of “If I Can Dream” is never mentioned in the company of the aforementioned songs.

Elvis was a hero to most, but he has never, as far as I know, got known for the deeper meaning in “If I Can Dream”.

On his could-have-been 78th birthday it´s time to give Elvis the respect he deserves. For making the song his own, for showing his soul – and for ripping his voice apart like I have never heard before!

This is Elvis at his best and strongest in one of his greatest performances ever!

Here are the lyrics…

There must be lights burning brighter somewhere
Got to be birds flying higher in a sky more blue
If I can dream of a better land
Where all my brothers walk hand in hand
Tell me why, oh why, oh why can’t my dream come true
Oh why
There must be peace and understanding sometime
Strong winds of promise that will blow away
All the doubt and fear
If I can dream of a warmer sun
Where hope keeps shining on everyone
Tell me why, oh why, oh why wont that sun appear
Were lost in a cloud
With too much rain
Were trapped in a world
That’s troubled with pain
But as long as a man
Has the strength to dream
He can redeem his soul and fly
Deep in my heart there’s a tremblin question
Still I am sure that the answer gonna come somehow
Out there in the dark, there’s a beckoning candle, yeah
And while I can think, while I can talk
While I can stand, while I can walk
While I can dream, please let my dream
Come true, ohhhhh, right now
Let it come true right now
Oh yeah

Elvis was a hero to most – and is still today to me…A hero!

5 thoughts on “Elvis Presley was a hero to most…!

  1. Hey! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone!

    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog
    and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

    Like

Feel free to leave a reply...